and she abandons her mind to obscure arts
creative alchemy 💫
After Hours: Craft
Preview
0:00
-1:51

After Hours: Craft

The meritocracy lie
🗣️ The below is a “transcript” of this episode, cleaned up for clarity and readability. I’m testing out various ways to make this podcast as accessible as I can for people, so please be patient with me as the dust settles.

어서와, 친구들, and welcome to Creative Alchemy: After Hours, a subscribers-only podcast with all the takes I don’t feel comfortable putting outside the paywall — I mean, the after-publishing event dinner-and-drinks equivalent of a podcast about the intersection between art and commerce.

Anyway, I’m your host, S. Jae-Jones, but please call me JJ. I’m the New York Times bestselling author of the Wintersong duology and the forthcoming YA fantasy series, Guardians of Dawn, the first installment of which will be published August 2023.

I’ll probably refine the tagline for After Hours later, but anyway. Welcome. I feel like I should be sipping a drink or something, but truthfully I’m still recovering from COVID, not to mention I don’t really drink anymore because I’m old. I don’t really mind aging, except for the gastrointestinal distress that seems to go hand-in-hand with bodies past the age of 30. I miss you, dairy. ㅠㅠ

So. I don’t know how many of my 절친 listen to my podcast, so I’m going to keep things super casual here, dog noises in the background and all. It’s a bit more comforting to imagine that only one of you is listening to me; so I feel a little more emboldened to give you some of my spiciest takes.

And this month’s spicy take is: we’ve become so focused on craft that we’ve completely ignored talent.

This post is for paid subscribers

and she abandons her mind to obscure arts
creative alchemy 💫
A podcast by New York Times bestselling author S. Jae-Jones about the creative alchemy required to transform inspiration into art.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed